Organisational structure

The Academic Cooperation Association (ACA) is an international not-for-profit association under the Belgian law and portrays the typical organisational structure for entities with this legal status.

It is governed by its supreme body – the General Assembly (GA) – where all the association’s members (both full and associate) are represented. However, only ACA’s full members have voting rights at the GA meetings. The Assembly is generally convened twice a year. Being the highest decision-making body of ACA, the GA deals with matters such as electing the President, admitting new members, approving the association’s budget and accounts, and any other matters within its competence, in accordance to the ACA Statutes.

The decisions of the GA are based on the proposals put forward by the Administrative Council (AC) – ACA’s management body. Like the General Assembly, the AC usually meets twice a year and is headed by the ACA President. It consists of up to 7 members – the ACA Administrators - elected by and from amongst the members of the General Assembly for a two-year term. This number includes the ACA Treasurer and the Vice-President. The mandate of all the Administrators is renewable once, except for the Vice-President. In addition, the ACA President and the Director are ex-officio members of the AC.  

Dr Sijbolt Noorda

ACA President is Dr. Sijbolt Noorda, President of the Observatory Magna Charta.

The seven ACA Administrators are, for the 2014-2016 term:

  • Stefan Zotti (Director General, OeAD): ACA Vice-President
  • Anette Pieper (Director, Department for Projects, DAAD)
  • Vidar Pedersen (Head of Department Higher Education, SIU)
  • Piet Van Hove (Chairman of the Board, Flanders Knowledge Area vzw) 
  • Bianka Siwińska (Executive Director, "Perspektywy" Education Foundation)

ACA Director is Bernd Wächter. The ACA Director heads the Brussels-based ACA Secretariat, which handles the day-to-day affairs of the association.